Cogwheel –

Ideas for engaging in cultural apologetics

The barbie myth

Posted by samthambu on September 13, 2007

By Samuel Thambusamy 

Step 1:

Play the Barbie audio/vedio


Ask the participants to share their feelings/experiences listening to the song

Step 2:

Ask the participants to take a closer look at the lyrics. You can project it on to the screen or distribute the lyrics.

Hi Barbie
Hi Ken
Do you wanna go for a ride?
Sure Ken
Jump In…
I´m a barbie girl, in a barbie world
Life in plastic, it´s fantastic.
You can brush my hair, undress me everywhere.
Imagination, that is your creation.
Come on Barbie, let´s go party!
I´m a blond bimbo girl, in a fantasy world,
Dress me up, make it tight, I´m your darling.
You are my doll, rock´n´roll, feel the glamouring thing,
kiss me here, touch me there, hanky panky.
You can touch, you can play, if you say “I´m always yours”
uu-oohuh..
Come on Barbie, let´s go party!
Make me walk, make me talk, do whatever you please,
I can act like a star, I can beg on my knees.
Come jump in, be my friend, let us do it again,
hit the town, fool around, let´s go party
You can touch, you can play, if you say: “I´m always yours”
You can touch, you can play, if you say: “I´m always yours”
Come on Barbie, let´s go party!
Come on Barbie, let´s go party!
Oh, I´m having so much fun!
Well Barbie, we just getting started.
Oh, I love you Ken.

Step 3: Lead the group into a discussion. Moderate the discussion.

  • What is the self-understanding of Barbie?
  • How would you describe the relationship between Ken and Barbie?
  • Barbie says: You can touch, you can play, if you say: “I´m alwaysyours“. Would you agree with Barbie? Why/Why not?
  • This song makes a subtle suggestion that girls are toys, for example “You are my doll” and “ Make me walk, make me talk do whatever you please”. All ideas have consequences. What are the implications of such an idea?
  • How is “fun” described? Do you think Barbie was really having fun? What would be the consequences of these “fun” times?
  • What is the philosophy of life presented/promoted in the song? What is your take on “ Come on! Lets-go-party” attitude?
Leave a Reply

 
