Cogwheel –

Ideas for engaging in cultural apologetics

Getting to know what Love is!

Posted by samthambu on April 14, 2008

What if I could speak all languages of humans and of angels? If I did not love others, I would be nothing more than a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. What if I could prophesy and understand all secrets and all knowledge? And what if I had faith that moved mountains? I would be nothing, unless I loved others. What if I gave away all that I owned and let myself be burned alive? I would gain nothing, unless I loved others. Love is kind and patient, never jealous, boastful, proud, or rude. Love isn’t selfish or quick tempered. It doesn’t keep a record of wrongs that others do. Love rejoices in the truth, but not in evil. Love is always supportive, loyal, hopeful, and trusting. Love never fails! (1Co 13:1-8 CEV)

 Questions for further discussion:

  1.  What is this passage about?
  2. Why does Paul consider love as such an important thing – more than speaking languages of humans and of angels, prophesying, understanding all secrets and all knowledge, faith that moves mountain, philanthropy etc ?
  3. How does Paul describe Love? What is love? What is not Love?
  4. Do you agree with this description of Love? Why? Is it easy to love people?
  5. Love and relationships dominate media. How can our understanding of love make a difference to the world?
  6. How do we grow in love? What are the areas of failure that needs immediate attention? What are the areas of strength that need to be affirmed?  
Kindness Jealous
Patience Boastful
Supportive Pride
Loyal Rude
Hopeful selfish
Trusting Quick Tempered
Does not keep a record of wrong Rejoicing
  1. What is God telling me through the passage? What am I going to do in response to God’s Word?

 

Leave a Reply

 
